Friday, 29 March 2019

Joint statement by film makers appealing people to vote out BJP from power

They say films are made for entertainment. Not just. Around 100 film makers of the country who make films to ensure social justice along side  entertaining the intellect, have come together for a common cause. This time to protect the democracy of the country. They got together and issued a statement to appeal to the people of India to oust BJP from power. The statement is given below.

An Appeal to the People of India

Our country is going through the most testing times ever. Though culturally vivid and geographically diverse, we have always stayed united. As a nation. It has indeed been a great feeling to be a citizen of this wonderful country.

But all that is at stake now.

Fascism threatens to strike us hard with all its might if we don't choose wisely in the coming Lok Sabha election. Period.

As we all know, ever since the BJP came to power in 2014, things have changed. And only for the worse. A country polarised along religious lines isn't the India we have known. Besides, the BJP and its allies have failed miserably in keeping their election promises. They are now using mob lynching and cow vigilantism to split the country communally. Marginalizing Dalits and Muslims is the name of the game. They are spreading their hate campaigns with the help of the internet and social media. Patriotism is their trump card. Any individual or institution that raises the slightest dissent is labelled ‘anti-national’. ‘Patriotism’ is how they grow their vote bank. Let us not forget that some of our eminent writers and media persons lost their lives because they dared to dissent.

Romanticizing and exploiting the armed forces is one of their strategies. Even at the risk of engaging the nation in an unnecessary war. There is unrelenting onslaught on the cultural and scientific institutions in the country. They mock the collective intelligence of the people by appointing persons with no relevance or experience as heads of these institutions, propagating unscientific and irrational beliefs even at international science seminars, making us the laughing stock of the entire world. Banning and censoring 'works of art', especially the most powerful of the lot - Cinema and Books - is their way of keeping the population away from the truth.

Farmers have been completely forgotten. In fact, the BJP has made the country the boardroom property of a handful of businessmen. Flawed economic policies that ended up as extreme disasters are covered up and made to look like successes. All with the help of false propaganda and marketing blitz. This has helped them to create a false optimism in the country.

Manipulation of statistics and history is another one of their fond projects. Giving them one more term in power will be a grave blunder. It could well be the last nail in the coffin for the biggest democracy in the world.

We urge all of you to do everything in your capacity to keep this harmful regime from coming back to power. Let your mandate be to choose a government that respects the Constitution of India, protects our freedom of speech and expression, and refrains from all kinds of censorship.

Yes, This is our last chance!

An Artist? Endorse the statement?

Name :


Theatre| Film | Visual Artist:

Your Email: (required)

Your Message: (required)

Endorsed by:

  1. Aashiq Abu
  2. Aarti Patel
  3. Abhijnan Sarkar
  4. Abhro Banerjee
  5. Ashish Pawaskar
  6. Ajayan Bala
  7. Ambika Rao
  8. Amitabha Chatterjee
  9. Amshan Kumar
  10. Amudhan R
  11. Anand Patwardhan
  12. Aneez K Mappila
  13. Anirudda Sharma
  14. Anjali Monteiro
  15. Anjum Rajabali
  16. Anupama Bose
  17. Arun Karthick
  18. Arun M
  19. Arun N Sivan
  20. Asha Achy Joseph
  21. Asha Unnithan
  22. B. Ajithkumar
  23. Babu Easwar Prasad
  24. Baburaj V G
  25. Baburaj Pandavath
  26. Bina Paul
  27. C S Venkateswaran
  28. Dar Ghai
  29. Devashish Makhija
  30. Debjani Banerjee
  31. Debalina
  32. Deepa Dhanraj
  33. Deepesh T
  34. Dileep Daz
  35. Divya Bharathi
  36. Gobi Nayanar
  37. Goutham Soorya
  38. Gurvinder Singh
  39. Indrasis Acharya
  40. Indraneel Lahiri
  41. Jayan Cheriyan
  42. Jeeva K J
  43. Jeeva Ponnuchamy
  44. Jiju Antony
  45. Jisha
  46. Jhelum Roy
  47. Jubith Namradath
  48. Kabir Singh Chowdhry
  49. K B Venu
  50. K P Jayashankar
  51. Kombai S Anwar
  52. Kamal K M
  53. Kesari Haravoo
  54. Leela Santhosh
  55. Leena Manimekalai
  56. Lenin Bharathi
  57. Lijo Jose Pellissery
  58. Madhupal
  59. Maheen Mirza
  60. Malini Jeevarathnam
  61. Manisha Korde
  62. Manoj Kana
  63. M G Sasi
  64. Miransha Naik
  65. Maulik Raj
  66. Muhsin Parari
  67. Naushil Mehta
  68. Nidhi Tuli
  69. Nishant Radhakrishnan
  70. Nishtha Jain
  71. P F Mathews
  72. Padmakumar Narasimhamurthy
  73. Pa. Ranjith
  74. Pradeep Nair
  75. Pradeep Dipu
  76. Pradipta Bhattacharyya
  77. Prakash Bare
  78. Pramod Payyannur
  79. Prasanna S Kumar
  80. Prasant Vijay
  81. Pratap Jospeh
  82. Prateek Vats
  83. Praveen Morchhale
  84. Prem Chand
  85. Prema Revathi
  86. Priyanandanan
  87. Pushpendra Singh
  88. Q
  89. Rahul Roy
  90. Rafeeq Ellias
  91. Rajani Mani
  92. Rajeev Ravi
  93. Rakesh Sharma
  94. Ranjith Sankaran
  95. Reena Mohan
  96. Renu Savant
  97. Rinchin
  98. Ritesh Sil
  99. R.R. Sreenivasan
  100. Sajeevan Anthikkad
  101. Saji Palamel
  102. Sajin Baabu
  103. sajitha madathil
  104. Sanalkumar Sasidharan
  105. Sandhya Goghale
  106. Sanjay Chauhan
  107. Sanjay Wadhwa
  108. Sanju Surendran
  109. Santosh Babusenan
  110. Sapna Bhavnani
  111. Sarvnik Kaur
  112. Satish Babusenan
  113. Shaji Mathew
  114. Sharad Raj
  115. Sherief Easa
  116. Sherry Govindan
  117. Sreebala K Menon
  118. Subhash KR
  119. Sudevan
  120. Sukhpreet Kahlon
  121. Suman Mukhopadhyay
  122. Sunny Joseph
  123. Suresh Achoos
  124. Unni Vijayan
  125. Vani Subramanian
  126. Vetri Maaran
  127. Venu ISC
  128. Vidhu Vincent
  129. Viju Varma
  130. Vinu Kolichal
  131. Vinod Raja

*Signatories in alphabetical order

No comments:

Post a Comment